A Good Goodbye

goodbyeI’m ecstatic to say that tomorrow is the my first day on my Peace Corps adventure! I have been looking forward to this day since the beginning of college when I decided to follow this dream.

Over the last three weeks, I’ve graduated from college, attended my mom’s wedding, and gone to what feels like 45 middle school choir concerts. Most of my brief trip home has been used for buying and packing things, but I’ve also spent a lot of time saying goodbyes.

Goodbye is such a harsh word, so “See You Soon” or “Bon Voyage” may be more applicable. I’ve said goodbye to my family, the other side of my family, my second family, my friends, my shower, etc. Almost all of these goodbyes aren’t going to be permanent, but a lot can change in 27 months.

I’m so blessed to have a support system comprised of people who love and support me. Asking someone to wait for you for 27 months and then still be your friend is an imposition, but I have no worries that these people will still be here for me when I get back.

The next time I see most of these people, I’ll be tanner, slimmer (hopefully!), and filled with stories of the amazing experiences I had serving in Togo, West Africa.

Everyone keeps asking me how I feel about leaving. It’s almost impossible to put into words. I’m feeling a lot of things, some emotions I can’t even recognize. There’s definitely a lot of excitement mixed with a healthy(ish) amount of fear. I feel like I’m the next in line for a really tall and fast roller coaster. I wish that I could go back to the beginning of the line and prepare myself more, but at the same time I can’t wait to get on the roller coaster.

Here’s to a good goodbye.

Here we go!

2 thoughts on “A Good Goodbye

  1. I hate goodbyes! I am ecstatic that you have already begun your fantastic blog! Can’t wait to read about all your adventures! I miss you already!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

